GS550 Cafe: Laying Down Some Blues

Progress on the bike always seems to come on in the same pattern:

Step 1: idea forms, usually late at night, leading to lost sleep.
Step 2: idea festers in my head for a few days, sometimes weeks.
Step 3: I step down into the garage to look for something, pick up a tool, and 4 hours later I’ve accomplished the thing I’ve been pondering. Today was one of those days.

20120118-220541.jpg

I had bought a can of GM Quasar blue DupliColor ColorMatch paint a while back, thinking it would be close to the blue I had in mind. After looking at the tail and tank in rat bike mode for the past several months I’ve already grown completely tired of it, and that blue from my original rendering has just been sitting there calling my name.

20120118-220728.jpg

4 hours of work this evening and BAM! It’s blue! Well, the tail is, at least. It’s a little rough around the edges (I am anything but a competent painter), but that’s kind of the idea of the whole build anyway, so I’m pretty happy with it.

20120118-220906.jpg

Also got a coat of trim black slapped on the swingarm.

20120118-220956.jpg

All of this has just served as a temporary distraction from that giant elephant in the room that I keep avoiding – the wiring..

Leave a Reply

